Big wedding surprise

The latke and I are getting close to our desh trip so with tying up loose ends at work and dealing with visa issues, I haven’t had much time to write a proper post. So tonight I’m just going to post a video that makes me really happy whenever I see it.

About 3 years ago, my friend Deep emailed me a youtube link to John and Michelle Brubaker’s Surprise Wedding Dance and wrote, “I could TOTALLY see you doing something like this!” At the time I wasn’t seeing anyone and although I thought it was a cute idea, I didn’t think marriage was in the cards for me. Therefore no wedding, and no surprise wedding dance.

Fast forward a few years . . . . while planning our wedding J and I both agreed we wouldn’t do a first dance (can’t take the pressure of so many eyes!) and I had mentioned to our musicians beforehand that I would love to walk down the aisle to my favorite old-school Bollywood song Mere Sapno Ki Rani. My ma and J both vetoed the idea (too inappropriate) so I settled to Ananda Shankar’s The River, beautifully played on the violin and acoustic guitar by relatives.

Ever since the Brubaker wedding video went viral, so many surprise wedding dances have proliferated on youtube that one could say it has become an American wedding trend in the 2000’s. Sadly, I didn’t think I was going to be part of that trend.

So after the ceremony was over, and dinner was served, and the band started playing, I relaxed into the evening and was a little sad that the song that I liked so much was vetoed. Then my friend Prianka ran up to me, handed me an old copy of an Alistair MacLean book and whispered “play along.” Play along to what? I thought. Confused, I looked down at the book and wondered why someone would ask me to read a novel during my wedding.

Little did I know that J and my friend Deep joined forces and surprised ME with their own dance. In the 1969 movie Aradhana, Rajesh Khanna and a friend are driving up a mountain in Darjeeling as he sings about his “dream queen.” Meanwhile, Sharmila Tagore passes by on a train reading a book by . . . . Alistair MacLean! As I’m looking down at the book I hear some very familiar harmonica music and it starts coming together. Best. surprise. ever.

