I can’t keep up with my CSA

One of the things I was really looking forward to after getting married was buying into a CSA (Community-Supported Agriculture) share and to have someone to help prepare foods from it and eat it with. Now that we are a few months in, I realize that its tougher than I originally thought.You might get vegetables that you’ve never heard of, or don’t like, or you might be away for a week, or you might have a Bengali mother who gives you pounds and pounds of torkari in tupperware or old yogurt containers so you don’t have to cook for a few days. Right now my kitchen is full of sweet potatoes, squash, red and yellow onions, beets, bok choy, and tomatoes. Unfortunately, many of my CSA veggies went bad

Sweet Dumpling Squash stuffed with Quinoa

before J and I got a chance to eat it. I decided to make a better effort to try and keep up with it, even if it means going out for meals less. I started contributing to our CSA’s recipe blog and its been a good motivational tool for me to experiment with veggies and try out new recipes. Last week we got sweet dumpling squash and it was my first time eating it and cooking with it. You can find my recipe for Sweet Dumpling Squash stuffed with Quinoa here. I think it turned out delicious! The squash is filling and contains carotenoids and antioxidants (great for your skin) the quinoa has protein (important for vegetarians) and the fat from the olive oil and nuts helps you evenly sustain your energy.

